Side Dishes

Roasted Lemon Basil Squash

Ah.. the side dish. So simple yet somehow so complicated. For some reason, it is usually easy for me to pick out a great main dish to make during the week but the “complicated” part is pairing the right side dish with it.

I had already decided to make this Baked Tilapia with Mustard Chive Sauce that I saw on the Foodnetwork (recipe to come) but trying to find something to compliment it that was simple and delicious was the challenge.

The recipe for the Mustard Chive sauce had some lemon juice in it so I thought I would carry that through with the other sides that I served with it. Let me tell you… this Roasted Lemon Basil Squash dish was a big winner and great along that Tilapia. Definitely will be having this again and I’m sure you will too!

(Printable Recipe)

Roasted Lemon Basil Squash

  • 2 large yellow squash, sliced lengthwise in 1/2 inch strips
  • 4 small zucchini,sliced lengthwise in 1/2 inch strips
  • 1 1/2 T. basil (dry)
  • zest of one lemon
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 350°. Place sliced zucchini and yellow squash on baking sheet.

IMG_3078

Sprinkle olive oil, basil, lemon zest, salt & pepper over squash evenly.

IMG_3083

Roast squashes at 350° for 25 minutes. (I like my squash a with a little bit of a crunch, if you want it more well done then I would roast for an additional 10 minutes).

For more of a “lemony” taste, squeeze the juice from the lemon you zested over the veggies and serve! YUM!

IMG_3092

Comments

