BabyFood

Butternut Squash Stew

Operation Butternut Squash Stew was in full effect and my little guy was wide awake. I know I’m a new mom, but I thought for sure I could chop up some veggies and make some baby food all while watching my little guy.  Ah…. sorely mistaken. My Operation went like this: peel potatoes and half butternut squash… stop because my son was crawling up my leg… start to peel other half of butternut squash… stop again because son is crawling up my leg, pick him up and peel the other half with him in my arms. (lets just say peeling the other half was interesting). Put him down and start to chop up potatoes, squash, and…. stop again because my son is now playing in the dogs water dish… move him away and finish chopping. I turn around to wash my hands and he is trying to pull himself up to standing using the oven door. Then he realizes mommy is not near him… let the full out crying commence. What’s a mom gotta do to get some work done around here?? So I stop everything, put him down for a nap and finally I am able to finish what I started. Note to self: next time I think “oh, I can do it while he is awake”…. IGNORE!

This Butternut Squash Stew is a creamy fall treat with a little spice and packed with nutrients for your little one. A great meal once your baby can have mixed foods (usually around 7-8 months). They will love the new flavor!

Butternut Squash Stew
(makes 3 cups)Butternut Stew Ingrd.

  • 4 medium white potatoes, peeled
  • 1/2 small Butternut Squash, peeled and seeded
  • 1 Fuji Apple, peeled and cored
  • 1 T. Extra-virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon (optional)

Directions: Cut squash, potatoes, and apples into bit size pieces. Heat Olive Oil in saucepan over medium high heat, add squash, potatoes and apples. Cook for about 8-10 minutes stirring occasionally. Add Water and Cinnamon, let simmer for 30-35 minutes, until vegetables are tender. Mash with a fork or blend with a blender to desired consistency.

(Recipe adapted from Cooking for Baby)

Butternut Squash Stew

Comments

