Entree

Turkey Sausage & Vegetable Rice Skillet

As the New Year gets underway, so do many “New Years Resolutions” from workout pledges and diet vows to reading more books and budget spreadsheets. Everyone has something they would like to improve upon. I have many different things that I would like to do different in 2013 and eating healthier is one of them.

For the past couple of years, our church has challenged each member to start off the year with a 21 day fast. For those of you who don’t completely understand what a “fast” is; it is a time when someone chooses to go “without” something that is hard to go “without”. So that could be food, television, soda, Facebook, Pinterest, desserts; whatever that person decides. It is our way of telling God that He is more important than any of these other things in our lives. So… with that being said. I have chosen to go without dessert or sweet treats for these 21 days. I know, I know! I write a “healthy food blog”, doesn’t seem like I’m giving much up right? Well, and this is only since I have had my son… I am completely addicted to sugar. I seriously have to have some kind of sweet treat at night and throughout the day.. my body NEEDS it to function. Even as I type, I’m thinking to myself… “I wonder if Hot Chocolate would be considered a dessert?” YES KRISTA it would, resist the temptation!!!! All that to say, I think about sugar/desserts/sweet treats often… too often and so I have decided to fast from them for the 21 days.

Ok, now that that is out of the way. Here comes the delicious (non-sweet) Turkey Sausage & Vegetable Rice Skillet I made tonight. The vegetables gave it heartiness, the sausage protein, and the rice filled me up so I wouldn’t want dessert. Success!!!

(Printable Recipe)

Turkey Sausage & Vegetable Rice Skillet
(makes 6-7 servings)

  • 1 lb of turkey sausage, sliced into quarter sized pieces
  • 1 T. coconut oil
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 yellow squash, diced
  • 1 can (15oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15oz) fire roasted tomatoes with garlic, undrained
  • 1 cup of corn (frozen)
  • 1 cup of whole wheat rice
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1 tsp. cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup monterrey jack cheeseCaramelized Sausage

Directions: In a medium skillet over medium heat, sauté  turkey sausage until caramelized. Once caramelized, set aside.

In a large skillet over medium high heat, melt coconut oil. Sauté onions, peppers, zucchini, and squash for 5-6 minutes or until tender.

VegetablesThen add drained beans, corn, undrained can of tomatoes, cumin, cilantro, water, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Add rice, stir once cover and remove from heat. Let stand 10 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Then add turkey sausage and sprinkle with cheese.

(Recipe adapted from Readyseteat.com

Skillet

Comments

