Appetizer

Avocado Bruschetta

Last night was one of those nights that I just did not want to make dinner. I wasn’t super hungry, but I also didn’t want to go out and pick something up. Definitely quite the dilemma. I knew I had some stuff on hand so I started shuffling through the pantry and refrigerator.  I saw that I had some french bread, a couple of tomatoes and some avocados and came up with this amazing Avocado Bruschetta dish. It was quick, easy, and delicious. (my husband actually says it’s one of his new dinners). Who says you can’t have an appetizer for dinner? Ah… stomach is wonderfully content.

(Printable Recipe)

Avocado Bruschetta
(makes 4 cups)

  • 2 cups of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup of basil chopped
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2-3 whole avocados diced
  • Salt to taste
  • French Bread (slice ½” thick)

Directions: Arrange sliced bread on baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and put under broiler for 2-3 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven. In the mean time, mix tomatoes, avocados, basil, garlic powder, and olive oil, until completely combined. Salt to taste.

*Note: A great way to dice avocado minus the mess is to remove the seed and score the avocado while it is still in the shell. Once you have scored the avocado to the desired size use a spoon to remove the avocado from its shell. 

Comments

