BabyFood

Mango Puree

So one of my newly found habits is searching for unique foods that my son can try, i.e. not your typical banana and apples.  Because I love food so much I am on a personal mission to make sure he tries as many types of food as possible so I don’t end up with a “picky eater”. Although, with my luck that will probably be the case. But, hey, a girl can hope right?

Through my readings I came across mangoes. Mangoes are packed with nutrients! They have Vitamins C, B6, high in beta-carotene (which converts to Vitamin A once digested), lots of fiber , and loaded with antioxidants. Mangos are a great fruit to help boost your babies immune system; and seeing as my son has just had his first cold I was sold on it. The best part about this fruit is you don’t have to steam it which is normal protocol when making homemade baby food, with mangoes all you have to do is cut it up and blend it! Easy and healthy, I’m in love!

(Printable Recipe)

Mango Puree
(makes about 7 T.)

  • 1 Ripe Mango
  • 2 T. of water

Directions: Slice mango in half and remove flesh from the seed. Cut mango into cubes and cut flesh away from skin. Place mango cubes and water into blender and puree until desired consistency.

(recipe from Homemade Baby Food Recipes)

* As a side note, mangoes are a great mixing fruit. Can be paired with apples, chicken, bananas, blueberries, and rice cereal.

2 thoughts on “Mango Puree

  1. Your post, Mango Puree | JoyfulHealthyEats, is really well written and insightful. Glad I found your website, warm regards from Hazel!

    • Hazel, thank you so much for the encouraging words! There will be plenty more posts to come, so stayed posted. (no “pun” intended) – Krista

Comments

